Hours and Closings

The Office of Administrative Hearings is open to the public between the hours of 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM. For general assistance, please call (410) 229-4100.

OAH Inclement Weather Policy

OAH hearings and mediations will be postponed due to inclement weather when:

  • State offices are closed in the areas where the hearings are to be held;
  • the hearing involves a State agency and the State implements its liberal leave policy in the area where the hearings are to be held;
  • the hearing involves a school system and that school system closes or delays the opening of schools; for example, if a school system closes schools, the OAH hearing will be postponed to another date; if a school system is opening one or two hours late, the OAH hearing will be delayed by the same amount of time.

Weather-related announcements concerning OAH operations will be broadcast on the following radio stations:

  • WBAL AM 1090 (metropolitan Baltimore)
  • WCBC RADIO 1270 (Western Maryland)
  • WTOP FM 103.5 and 103.9 (metropolitan Washington, DC)
  • WQHQ FM 104.7 (Eastern Shore and Southern Maryland)

You may also call the OAH at 1-800-388-8805 or 410-229-4100 and press #6 or check this site for the latest information on closings or postponed hearings due to inclement weather.

State Holidays for the Year 2021

OAH is closed on the following dates:

New Year's Day Friday January 1, 2021
Birthday of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Monday January 18, 2021
Presidents' Day Monday February 15, 2021
Memorial Day Monday May 31, 2021
Juneteenth National Independence Day * Friday June 18, 2021
Independence Day * Monday July 5, 2021
Labor Day Monday September 6, 2021
Columbus Day Monday October 11, 2021
Veterans Day Thursday November 11, 2021
Thanksgiving Day Thursday November 25, 2021
American Indian Heritage Day Friday November 26, 2021
Christmas Day * Friday December 24, 2021
New Year's Day * Friday December 31, 2021

*When a State holiday occurs on a Saturday or Sunday, the holiday is observed on the Friday before or the Monday after the actual holiday, respectively.‚Äč